Introducing ... me!

Guest Kurt J. Wilkens

Guest Kurt J. Wilkens

Hi --

My name is Kurt J. Wilkens, and I'm going to be 38 years old this coming January. I live in the West Palm Beach area of Florida, and I work in construction as a low-voltage technician (a fancy way of saying, I install burglar alarms, intercoms, TV and phones, etc.). I also operate a part-time personal training company -- Integrated Conditioning, Inc. -- which I am in the process of totally revamping.

It was Brooks D. Kubik and his Dinosaur Training that initially sparked my fascination (as I suppose it did for many) in the old-time lifters and their methods and feats of strength. I am especially interested in the real old-time physical culturists of the pre-WWII era; the ones popular closer to the turn of the century -- Saxon and Goerner, particularly; and maybe Inch. (From what little I have read on this site, however, I fear I may find some of my personal heroes' reputations torn asunder!) I also have a strong (no pun intended) interest in the more current interpretation of strongman training and competition.

I began training with weights as a teenager, probably about 15 or 16 years old -- althougth I'd have to dig out some old training journals to be sure. Perhaps naturally, I started out on the painfully non-productive high-volume routines promulgated by the bodybuilders of the day -- Arnold and Big Louie, Lee Haney, etc. I got nowhere, of course, until I found Stuart McRoberts, who, in turn, led me to Brooks, who led me to the old timers, and here I am. Today, the focus of my training is on both Strongman (via the use of various implements and odd objects) and Tactical (primarily through kettlebells and gymnastics apparatus) workouts. I also train regularly in martial arts/self-defense techniques, which I feel has been and always should be a vital element of Physical Culture.